Future of Government Awards For Enhanced Public Innovation and Collaboration

Future of Government Awards by UNDP
The inaugural Future of Government Awards seeks to champion public sector contributions that are driving this global digital development and positive change. 
Increasingly, digital solutions are transforming lives and livelihoods, as well as enhancing the reach, role, and effectiveness of government. The public sector is being recognized in the inaugural Future of Government Awards for its contributions to global digital development and positive change.
By showcasing open-source solutions, we can inspire a cascade of best practices across the globe. The use of open source is also an effective step in enabling governments to participate in digital success, as no country or region has a monopoly on innovative ideas.


Future of Government Award 2022

A newly launched global award program called the Future of Government Awards recognizes the people and projects driving the digital transformation of governments worldwide. The awards are co-sponsored by the AWS Institute from Amazon Web Services (AWS), a thought leadership and executive education program to accelerate digital transformation in the public sector; the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the leading United Nations organization fighting to end the injustice of poverty, inequality, and climate change; and Apolitical, a global network and learning platform for government with a mission to build 21st century governments that work for people and the planet.
Future of Government Awards‘ recognizes the unsung heroes of government who work tirelessly to improve citizen services. Awards recognize innovative technologies created and shared by the public sector as well as the adaptation and reuse of these technologies by government organizations.
There is no competition between governments, and most of their public services are similar. If a government organization develops a solution for a common need and publishes it as open source software, other governments can reuse it, saving agencies across the globe time and resources in the process of modernizing and innovating.
Despite this, many government organizations are still unfamiliar with reusing open source solutions or are unsure how to begin. It is therefore so critical to share the stories and case studies of those who have successfully reused and adapted solutions. To start the transformation journey, they can provide inspiration, step-by-step guidance, and confidence.
In this regard, the Future of Government Awards will recognize, celebrate, and share a variety of proven practices and solutions that can be adopted by governments around the world. The Future of Government Awards program aims to identify solutions that will become Digital Public Goods and that can be shared with governments throughout the world through the Open Government Solutions library on Amazon Web Services.


There are three categories for this year’s Future of Government Awards. Each category will feature finalists and one overall winner:
  • The Digital Innovator of the Year Award recognizes individual public servants who have successfully championed digital transformation
  • The Open Source Creation of the Year Award celebrates government organizations that embody open government through the development of open source solutions
  • The Open Source Adaptation of the Year Award honors government organizations that have made great strides in reusing open source solutions
A global selection committee will choose the finalists and winners for the awards. Each member of the selection committee brings deep expertise in digital innovation and transformation within government, from a wide set of diverse backgrounds.

Nomination Guidelines 

If you, or someone you know, is part of a project to digitally transform government to improve citizen services, or are involved in the creation or reuse of highly innovative open source solutions for government, please submit a nomination form for one of the award categories.  
Nominations for the awards are now open and will close on 14 October 2022.
Visit the Future of Government Awards main page to learn more about the program and nominate a digital transformation leader or open source solution.
You may also be interested in : 

5 Hand Hygiene Innovations That Breakdown The Barriers To Handwashing

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)